Artemis Cooper

Elizabeth Jane Howard: A Dangerous Innocence

Sunday 18 September 2016

Artemis Cooper
Elizabeth Jane Howard, Artemis Cooper

Elizabeth Jane Howard was an award-winning English novelist, model and former actress. Her first novel The Beautiful Visit won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize in 1951 but she is perhaps best known for her quartet, The Cazalet Chronicles. The first two volumes, The Light Years and Marking Time, were adapted for television and made into a 45 part series for BBC Radio 4. A prolific writer, she also penned short stories, screenplays, articles and a memoir before she died in 2014.

Artemis Cooper’s forthcoming biography Elizabeth Jane Howard – A Dangerous Innocence paints a colourful picture of Jane’s life both on and off the page. Drawing on interviews and conversations with family, friends, fellow writers and stepson Martin Amis as well as Jane herself, it examines the gap between her insightful perceptions of men and women and her own turbulent love life and failed marriages.

Artemis Cooper is the author of Patrick Leigh Fermor: An Adventure, Cairo in the War, 1939-1945 and Writing at the Kitchen Table, the authorised biography of Elizabeth David. She wrote Paris After the Liberation, 1945-1949 with her husband, historian Antony Beevor. She has also edited two collections of letters, The Broken Road, the final volume of Patrick Leigh Fermor’s trilogy and an anthology of his writing, Words of Mercury.

Artemis will be in conversation with Hilary Mantel, Festival President and a good friend and champion of Elizabeth Jane Howard’s work.